top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarietta Bloomfield

5 Tips for Women to look chic and stylish for your next Interview!



 
Somedays, I miss curling up on my couch, sipping my favourite tea, as I devour the latest copy of Vogue. The glamour and texture of each page added to the sense of luxury and decadence.

My coffee table was stacked with Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, and GQ. My sense of style was developed and influenced by their Fashion and Beauty Stylists.


I feel nostalgic that we no longer immerse ourselves in the magic of fashion magazines. They are still available to purchase digitally and as a Magazine, yet the content is filled with ads. Sadly, they no longer have the budget to allow you to escape into their magical world.


As we have embraced Social Media, we have witnessed the rise of the Influencer. Instagram and Tik Tok are influencing many fashion purchases. Some Influencer's style is beautiful, yet more often than not, it is average, and the quality is poor.

Post-pandemic, our standards have been relaxed. Yet, first impressions have stayed the same. Having worked in Talent Acquisition interviewing for nearly twenty years, your interview attire is essential. You don't have to be a fashionista, but the first impression you make can be the key to your success.


I speak with many clients who need clarification about what they should wear to work, let alone to an interview. I am traditional in that I love the distinction of my work wardrobe. The moment that red lipstick is on and I walk out the door in a pair of heels, my mindset changes. I feel more confident and laser-focused.


Let's build you a chic and stylish Interview Collection.

Invest in the foundation pieces - a simple dress that covers your shoulders and finishes just above or below the knee. A pair of tailored pants and; a pencil skirt. Worn with silk t-shirts or a linen shirt, fitted knits, and a trenchcoat. Keep it simple, I love Black or White, as you can quickly build upon it.


  • Blazer: A quality blazer screams style and is an investment piece.

  • Costume Jewellery: You can play with Costume Jewellery. Think Chunky Necklaces, thick gold or silver cuff, or statement drop earrings. BLING!

  • Pop with Colour! - A beautiful scarf tied around your handbag, red lipstick, and a coloured belt enable your outfit to POP in a creative or conservative environment.

  • Handbag - I am not a fan of the fakes – think Hermes Birken bags – they retail at $50,000 +, and if you wear one to an interview, it is clearly fake. Keep your bag simple – a beautiful clean leather bag is far more stylish.

  • Shoes - Flat Mules, Mid to High Heels with pointed toes always add style to your outfit. Ditch the boxy chunky Nanna heels.


I LOVE white sneakers, and they complement most outfits. However, be careful - Management opinions are polarised in their perspective of trainers/sneakers. It is best to play it safe.

bottom of page